<![CDATA[Forever Dystopian - Home]]>Sun, 06 Dec 2015 07:36:52 -0800Weebly<![CDATA[November Wrap up]]>Tue, 01 Dec 2015 21:34:15 GMThttp://foreverdystopian.weebly.com/home/november-wrap-upbooks read

​The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams
Splintered by A.G. Howard
The Revolution of Ivy by Amy Engel
Saga #5 by Brian K. Vaughan
Rusty Nailed by Alice Clayton
My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
The Sweet Spot by Stefanie Evanovich
The Friend Zone by Kristen Callihan
The Game Plan by Kristen Callihan
Honeymoon from Hell #3 by R.L. Mathewson
Honeymoon from Hell #4 by R.L. Mathewson
Honeymoon from Hell #5 by R.L. Mathewson
Bad Boys Do by Victoria Dahl
Things We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby
We Should All be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie*

Total Read: 15 books

favorite books of the month

My heart and other black holes
by jasmine warga

Another novel about teen suicide, Warga tells a tell of two broken souls who find solace and acceptance in each other, the most unlikely of allies. Such a great example of the beauty in pain. I really enjoyed it, Your heart will break for these characters and the writing is really beautiful! 

reading goal update

74/75 books

goals for december

I have no specific goals for December, but I would like to stick to my TBR and try and get as close to 100 books as possible! This has definitely been a crazy reading year :)

december tbr

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
Between the World and Me b Ta-Nehisi Coates
George by Alex Gino
Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Honeymoon from Hell #6 by R.L. Mathewson
More Than This by Patrick Ness
I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
How to Be a Heroine by Samantha Ellis
The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood
Emmy and Oliver by Robin Benway
All The Rage by Courtney Summers
Screwdrivered by Alice Clayton
Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes
Christmas from Hell by R.L. Mathewson
Honor Girl by Maggie Thrash
Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
]]>
<![CDATA[October Wrap Up]]>Thu, 05 Nov 2015 00:36:23 GMThttp://foreverdystopian.weebly.com/home/october-wrap-up

books read

Forever With You by Jennifer L. Armentrout
The Martian by Andy Weir
Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich
The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan
Honeymoon from Hell #1 by R.L. Mathewson
Honeymoon from Hell #2 by R.L. Mathewson
You're Never Weird on the Internet by Felicia Day
Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Binge by Tyler Oakley
Wallbanger by Alice Clayton

Total Books Read: 10

Favorite book of the month

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda 
​by Becky Albertalli
A totally beautiful book! How Albertalli crafted such a beautiful story is beyond me. If you love a well layered, impactful, hopeful and necessary love story than please read this book!

favorite quote of the month

"The way I feel about him is like a heartbeat—soft and persistent, underlying everything.”
-- Simon vs the homo sapiens agenda

reading goal update

59/75 Books
Since I have made my goal (as of publishing this post) I opted to increase my goal to 75 books to end my reading challenge for 2015!

goals for november

1. Read at least 8 books.
The last two months I have read quite a bit, at least 10 books per month! So I think this is doable.
2. Switch it up with some variety. 
I have read a ton of romance this year, which is becoming pretty normal. I want to try to mix up genres if possible and jump out of my comfort zone a bit.
3. Just Have fun!
I have been feeling like a slump may be in my future, so I need to give myself permission to read what I want to read, when I want to read it every once in a while!

November Tbr
(Very Flexible)

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
The Sweet Spot by Stephanie Evanovich
Splintered by A.G. Howard
The Revolution of Ivy by Amy Engel
Saga Volume #5 by Brian K. Vaughan
Honeymoon from Hell #3 by R.L. Mathewson
Honeymoon for Hell #4 by R.L. Mathewson
Skipping a Beat by Sarah Pekkanen
Things We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby
The Weight of Feathers by Anna Marie McLemore
The Friend Zone by Kristen Callihan
The Game Plan by Kristen Callihan
The Program by Suzanne Young
Rusty Nailed by Alice Clayton

So, what are your reading plans
​for november?

]]>
<![CDATA[Friday Reads]]>Sat, 24 Oct 2015 00:53:13 GMThttp://foreverdystopian.weebly.com/home/friday-reads
Picture
It's that time again! I am nearing the end of my  yearly challenge and hope to get at least two books read this weekend!

one the list

Binge by Tyler Oakley

As a big fan of the Youtube vlogger, I was really looking forward to this memoir. I have not been a fan of this Youtuber book trend, but this one seems like it'll be fun!

Splintered by A.G. Howard

This book was on a recommendation by a patron. I don't read many retellings but I am really excited, especially since I have never actually read the Carroll tale. I'm hoping I like this one!
]]>
<![CDATA[September 2015 Wrap Up]]>Sat, 24 Oct 2015 00:28:30 GMThttp://foreverdystopian.weebly.com/home/september-2015-wrap-upBooks Read
Playing for Keeps by R.L. Mathewson
Ally Hughes Has Sex Sometimes by Jules Moulin
Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon
Perfection by R.L. Mathewson
Checkmate by R.L. Mathewson
Why Not Me by Mindy Kaling
Dumplin by Julie Murphy
Truce by R.L. Mathewson
The Game Plan by R.L. Mathewson
Double Dare by R.L. Mathewson
The Transfer by Veronica Roth
Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari

Total Books Read: 12

Favorite Book of the Month

Dumplin by Julie Murphy​
I absolutely loved this story! Such a unique voice and a beautifully layered story. The Texan setting, Dolly Parton fangirling and wonderfully constructed friendships really took a good story to an amazing, lovely YA read. Definitely one of my favorites of the year!

Top quote of the month

“I think you gotta be who you want to be until you feel like you are whoever it is you're trying to become. Sometimes half of doing something is pretending that you can.”  
​-- Julie Murphy, Dumplin

reading goal update

52/60 books

Seeing as I'm a little late on posting this, I am forgoing an October TBR and goals. But, definitely look for them next month
]]>
<![CDATA[Top 5 Wednesday]]>Wed, 16 Sep 2015 10:05:58 GMThttp://foreverdystopian.weebly.com/home/top-5-wednesday

This meme is brought to you by the Goodreads group Top 5 Wedneday and is the brain child of booktuber GingerReadLainey


Top 5 Books Dealing with Mental Illness

As someone who prefers to read contemporary realistic fiction for teens, I inadvertently seem to read a lot of books dealing with some form of mental illness, whether it be--depression, anxiety, eating disorders, etc. Here my top 5 books involving mental illness that I have read recently. I'm sure I am missing YA classics on this particular topic but I wanted to shy away from the typical answers to this question.
Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
In my humble opinion, this book (whether you deem it in the topics canon or not) is an essential YA read having to do with mental illness. Your heart with break and soar for this beloved misfit. If you have not read this yet, please pick it up, It is a truly beautiful, heart breaking story
The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson
A recent read for me, Anderson is a mainstay in contemporary realistic fiction. Her works are often intense and deal a range of mental issues from eating disorders to depression. This work is a heartbreaking and beautiful exploration that a teen goes through when faced with her father's own demons. Truly amazing!
All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
This debut novel has made the cut due to its unflinching and realistic portrayal of teenage depression. I read this earlier this year and was immediately struck by Finch and Violet's incredible journey and rawness of how mental illness impacts not just the individual suffering but the loved ones left in its wake. 
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Though not a strict exploration of mental illness, Cath's experience as her father's deals with his own father's mental illness hit me right in the feels. As someone who has a parent who struggles with very similar issues, I felt for Cath deeply. Feeling like a parent to your parent is rough but can also help you to appreciate the good times when they are there in front of you.
Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon
Okay, I am going to be pretty vague with this since the novel is so new and I don't want to give away any major spoilers. My heart broke for Maddy as she struggled with not only dealing with the depressing nature of being trapped inside her house and illness but also in the personal demons those around her had to face within the novel. This is really a must read novel that truly offers hope among the pain of what mental illness can do to those we love the most.  

What are your favorite novels dealing with mental illness?

]]>
<![CDATA[Friday Reads--September 11th 2015]]>Fri, 11 Sep 2015 10:04:35 GMThttp://foreverdystopian.weebly.com/home/friday-reads-september-11th-2015
Picture
As someone who works a full-time job, I still try and read 2-3 books per week. So, I tend to get the bulk of my reading done on my days off. So here are reading plans for the weekend!

-----------------
Complete:
Barbara the Slut by Lauren Holmes (audiobook)
I began this book already and I'm not impressed yet. The first two stories were a little boring so I'm hoping, I get to more interesting ones soon!
Unwind by Neal Shusterman 
So, I've only read the first chapter of this so far. I am having a hard time getting into it! I think its because I am reading on my phone so I may switch to an ebook version before the weekend starts and see how I get along with it!
 by Art Speigelman
As a big fan of graphic novels, I have heard nothing but GREAT things about this duology. I really need to pick this up soon!



So, what are you reading this weekend?

]]>
<![CDATA[August 2015 Wrap Up]]>Thu, 10 Sep 2015 20:08:12 GMThttp://foreverdystopian.weebly.com/home/august-2015-wrap-up

Books Read:

Nothing Left to Lose by Kirsten Moseley
Breakable by Tammara Webber
All Lined Up by Cora Carmack
Shadows by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Frigid by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Scorched by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Very Good Lives by J.K. Rowling

Total Books Read: 7

Favorite Book of the Month

Very Good Lives by J.K. Rowling
For such a small book this one packed quite a punch. I have been in a weird reading mood this year, choosing to read books in a genre I typically do not reach for. As of late, I have been craving stories and books with a little more substance. To go with a food analogy--I have been reading a lot junk food. Not that I don't like potato chips, they have their place but sometimes you need a hearty meat and potatoes sort of meal that sticks to your ribs. Very Good Lives was that for me this month. This speech by Rowling to Harvard graduates from 2008, was such an amazing look at imagination and failure in such a breathtakingly real way. I really truly loved it and hope to purchase a copy soon for my own personal library

Favorite Quote of the Month

“We do not need magic to change the world, we carry all the power we need inside ourselves already: we have the power to imagine better.”  -- Very Good Lives, J.K. Rowling

Reading Goal Update 

40/60 Books 

Goals for September

1. Stay Ahead of My Reading Goal
I need to read at least 5 books/month to stick to my goal for the year
2. Aim for 3 books/week
I believe this is totally doable for my current work schedule, especially if I mix in an audiobook here and there on my way to work
3. Read more YA and/or literary fiction this month and less romance
Obviously, romance has been my jam most of the year and I don't think I will get away from reading it in September but if I can mix in some other genres this month that would be great
4. Go for magic number 45
That should go in line with my current reading pace and unless I hit the a dreaded reading slump it should be totally doable
5. But, ultimately aim for QUALITY and not quantity
I want to challenge myself but also keep in mind why I choose to read

September TBR

This TBR is not set in stone. I find that when I set up a strict schedule I always meander away from it. So this is just a list of what I would like to get to for the month
Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon
Ally Hughes Has Sex Sometimes by Jules Moulin
Unwind by Neal Shusterman
Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
Why Not Me by Mindy Kaling
Dumplin by Julie Murphy
Saga Volume #5 by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples
Hollow City by Ransom Riggs
Barbara the Slut by Lauren Holmes
Maus 1&2 by Art Spieglman

What does your September look like?

]]>
<![CDATA[Book Blogger TMI Tag]]>Wed, 09 Sep 2015 16:06:58 GMThttp://foreverdystopian.weebly.com/home/book-blogger-tmi-tagI found this tag online via the blog The Runaway Reader and adapted it to make it slightly shorter. If you would like to do this tag please feel free and send me a link in the comments so I can read it! 

1. How old are you?
I turned 30 years old in April
2. What book are you reading currently?
Unwind by Neal Shusterman--this has been on my TBR for years now and then I found out several of my friends were reading it, I thought it was high time to pick it up. Its a YA dystopian :)
3. OTP?
Anna and Etienne from Anna and the French Kiss
4. Being active outside or reading inside?
Well seeing as this is a book blog I can easily say reading inside. I am not very outdoorsy and I don't even like reading outside. I prefer the comfort of my sofa or bed
5. What is the last book you read?
Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. It was super good and a great contemporary debut if you into that sort of thing. I did a review with my thoughts, check it out here
6. What are you going to read next?
I tend to be a mood reader but if the stars all align my next book will be Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
7. Ebook--Yes or No?
I may have the unpopular opinion on this question but I ADORE my e-reader! I almost exclusively read on either my Kindle or an audiobook on my phone. This may be more to do with the fact that since I work, I find it easier to lug around my e-reader or my phone vs. a paperback book. Plus I do like the added benefit of convenience that it provides over physical books. But I do pride myself in being a book collector. If I love the book, I always purchase a physical copy for my bookshelf
8. Where do you prefer to read?
Most likely you will find me in my bed since I get the bulk of my reading done before bedtime. If its the weekend I'm on my couch in the living room. I recently moved to a new 3 bedroom townhouse with my sister and I'm turing the spare room into my "book room". Its still in its early stages, I just acquired a bookshelf, but it needs more shelves, a comfy chair, etc. I will be documenting its evolution on this blog so stay tuned!
9. Whose blog did you look at last?
I'm not a 100 percent sure, but I have these book blogs on constant rotation--Jamie from Perpetual Page Turner, Hannah from So Obsessed With, Leah from Books Speak Volumes and Lauren from Bookmark Lit
10. Who is your favorite booktuber?
Right now, I absolutely adore Regan from Peruse Project. She is a big fantasy reader but also reviews middle grade, general YA and literary fiction. I find her videos very well thought out, informative and really fun!
11. What do you do when somebody tells you that reading is boring?
Well, since I deal with this on a daily basis with my job, I really just try to get to know the person as best as possible so I can give them a recommendation of something I think they'll love. That is half the battle, but the other half is on their end, if they don't want to like reading or have a preconceived notion of what reading is than nothing I say or do will make much of a difference. Just being a role model for good reading behavior is better than pushing every book known to man at them. When they are ready they will come to you
12. Who is your all time favorite book character?
I would say for right now--Eleanor from Eleanor and Park. I see a lot of myself in her (minus the abusive family) and my heart broke for her many times. She was me in high school for the most part and she is who I would want to give a hug too and tell her everything is going to be okay
13. What is your preferred drink while reading?
Tea (cold in the summer and hot in the winter) or soda (I'm a Dr. Pepper girl)
14. If you hated reading what would you be doing instead?
Something creative--I like to write, scrapbook and cook in my spare time
15. How many bookshelves do you own?
Only one right now, I have only be collecting books for the last year or so but as my collection increases I will be buying more
16. Favorite author?
This is so hard to choose since I love so many authors. But, if I had to choose--Laurie Halse Anderson has my vote
17. What is the number one book on your wishlist?
Currently, it is Why Not Me by Mindy Kaling. I LOVED her last book and this has been on my TBR ever since!
18. Do you prefer female or male protagonists?
This is hard to say--it can depend on the genre, character or even setting. 
19. What is your favorite book-to-film adaptation?
I would say The Perks of Being a Wallflower was done very well. Such a fantastic book and film!
20. Which do you enjoy reading more--negative or positive reviews?
I believe both have their merits. I really enjoy reviews that provide a balance between the two. Purely negative reviews do not always give enough of an understanding about what worked and what didn't but overwhelmingly positive reviews can offer the same sort of problems
]]>
<![CDATA[Life is a Gift]]>Sun, 06 Sep 2015 20:27:26 GMThttp://foreverdystopian.weebly.com/home/life-is-a-gift
Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon
320 Pages
Delacorte (Publisher)
Source: Kindle Ebook (Purchased Myself)
Other Works (by author): None--Debut
Readalikes: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
Add it to Goodreads

Picture

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster 
(Goodreads)
Of all the book genres in teen fiction today,  contemporary realistic fiction are some of my favorite stories to read. I think this is because as a teenager, I craved stories people and places that were wholly new to me--adult life, growing up and experiencing a time beyond my four walls. Now, as an adult, I seek to experience what my young patrons are going through which is all together foreign to me even now. Life is not a fantasy, there isn't any magic, hobbits are Diagon Alley but these types of stories are compelling is a whole new if ordinary way. 

I've heard amazing things about Everything Everything for the last several months and I'll admit the synopsis intrigued me. I happened to be quite a sickly baby as well and although I certainly did not have the same sort of issues as Madeleine I could certainly emphasis with her sense of despair at seeing her life so confined that even the loved ones around her could not fill no matter how desperately they tried.

Characters

I found the characters in Yoon's story to be very relatable and compelling. Madeleine is trapped in her own circumstances. She has a loving mother and kind nurse around her that provide anything and everything she may need. While she is able to glean what she needs to know about her outside world through books, she has very little if any true experience beyond the words on the page. She is bright, inventive and is able to function pretty happily despite her circumstance. Her mother loves her daughter greatly. This is definitely apparent from the first few chapters and can be seen throughout the novel. As the story progresses though we begin to see a woman who may be so enamored with the life she has created around Madeleine's illness that it is all she truly knows. Alice, the nurse who cares for Maddy is a bright spot throughout this work to both the reader and Maddy  and provides some of the more poignant discussions on life, love and what truly matters. Finally, the both who captures Madeleine's heart.Olly is smart and both take to each other right away. In many cases thier relationship may seem "instalovey" since it develops rather quickly, but I feel it works for the novel. Olly is able to provide the conflict that Maddy needs to open he heart to something she feels is altogether impossible. Olly's background--the product of an abusive father is dealt with very well and does not overwhelm the story that Yoon is trying to achieve.

Writing

I find it very hard to see this as a debut. Yoon has done such a fantastic job right out of the gate and I will defintely have her next book on my radar. The writing was very lyrical, whimsical and you can definitely tell a lot of the love went into creating the storyline and crafting the characters. I also thoroughly enjoyed the diversity she put into both the mother and daughter in this story. Madeleine is both Asian and Black which you don't see in many young adult novels and it was really refreshing to see. My other favorite part of this work is the many illustrations that are provided that really illustrate Maddy's sense of humor and personality. I laughed out loud many times throughout especially at her medical description of "butterflies" that she feels when she sees Olly. The illustrations are done by the author's husband and I feel that they really enhanced the story.

Feels

I had so many feels of this book! I knew about a quarter of the way through that this was going to be an emotional journey. I don't really cry (at least physical tears) while reading I could definitely feel the emotions rising to the surface. In a way, I was having very similar emotions as Maddy experienced them--heart raising, anxiety about the future and what her ending and Olly's was going to be. Yoon's story definitely packed an emotional punch and was very well paced for such a short novel.

Overall

One of the best YA contemporary's I've read this year and the best debut as well! I cannot tell you how much I loved this story. If you enjoy emotional journeys of self-discovery, great writing and impactful characters please give this one a shot! Everything Everything has been compared to Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell and feel that is a fair comparison. Don't miss out on this one, its truly fantastic! 
]]>
<![CDATA[Top Ten Tuesday]]>Sun, 06 Sep 2015 14:51:07 GMThttp://foreverdystopian.weebly.com/home/top-ten-tuesday
This weekly meme is brought to you by the girls over at The Broke and Bookish. Check them out!

7 Finished Series I Have Yet to Finish



I do not read a lot of series. I actually prefer contemporary standalone stories over big, long series but I have 7 series that I either completed and that I want to finish or that are almost completed and I want to finish.
I devoured the first two books in this mega series. I am a sucker for a good YA Dystopian (hence my blog name) but after a patron of mine spoiled Allegiant for me I haven't had the heart to pick up the final book. But now, I think enough time has passed that I can finish out this series without too much emotional turmoil.
So, I have read The Giver at least ten times since discovering this series several years ago. It is probably one of my favorite dystopians I have ever read. Nowadays, this book is required reading in school but not when I was attending. When Son (the final book in the series) came out a couple of years ago, I immediately picked it up but found that I just could not get into it. I have decided that I want to go back and reread The Giver along with the rest of the books in the series to see if my opinion changes.
I read the first book in this series last year and really enjoyed it. It was one of the stories for me that started off slow but got increasing better as it progressed. I purchased the second book on my Kindle about a year ago and have yet to pick it up. I guess I have the "too many books, so little time" argument to blame for that, but I would love to finish this series in the coming year!
I can't believe it's been 5 years since I read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo! Man, time flies! I got the second book as a Christmas gift a couple of years ago but just haven't picked it up but I am really interested in finish the trilogy soon. I know that another author has picked up the series and is writing more books but I am hesitant about it and may only read the books that Larsson himself wrote.
Daughter of Smoke and Bone was one of my favorite books of last year! I had every intention of picking up the second book in this trilogy but I find that I have to be in a very specific mood to want to read fantasy. But, I do want to read the final two books in this series. Taylor creates such a fantastic original world and I miss Karou and Akiva's love story so much!
Though not completed yet, Meyer's final book in this series comes out in November so I thought I'd slip it in. I LOVED Cinder so much when I read it last year but I have yet to pick up the rest of the series. I have heard that it only gets better so I am really going to try and pick up Scarlet soon. I have no excuse--I own Scarlet and Cress on my Kindle and on audiobook. I really want to find out what happens to Cinder!
Finally, the number one finished series that I want to finish--Vampire Academy! God I love this series so much! I feel like the series gets better with every book. I have finished the first 3--Vampire Academy, Frostbite and Shadow Kiss. Shadow Kiss gutted me for reasons I won't spoil for you and left me in a MAJOR book hangover so I have been hesitant to pick up the next one. I think enough time has passed however to pick up the final three. Dimitri and Rose forever! 

So, tell me: Have you read/completed any of these series? If so, what are your thoughts?

]]>